Rick Turner Photography: Blog https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog en-us (C) Rick Turner Photography rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) Fri, 22 Jan 2021 03:58:00 GMT Fri, 22 Jan 2021 03:58:00 GMT https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/img/s/v-12/u330179106-o330876821-50.jpg Rick Turner Photography: Blog https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog 120 120 Arroyos of Big Bend https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2020/5/arroyos-of-big-bend The Arroyos of Big Bend ~
The highways of erosion in this depositional environment, where the tops of the surrounding mountains slowly over millions of years end up in the high desert. I love to explore these winding mazes of erosion to find some of Big bend’s most colorful rocks making their way down to the river.
Big Bend has been quiet, but not still. Denudation or erosional forces, topple the mountains, and fill the valleys. Seasonal heavy rains carry valley fill down the arroyos, to the Rio Grande, and on to the Gulf of Mexico. The towering limestones are still being uplifted at 3 inches per century. The Rio Grande is taking away at least that much as the Big Bend geological forces are a part of everyday life.
 

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2020/5/arroyos-of-big-bend Wed, 27 May 2020 20:34:18 GMT
The Milky Way over Casa Grande https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2017/5/the-milky-way-over-casa-grande The iconic Casa Grande, at 7,345 feet towers above the Chisos Campgrounds of Big Bend National Park.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) casagrande milkyway https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2017/5/the-milky-way-over-casa-grande Wed, 03 May 2017 19:45:14 GMT
The Rains Begin https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2016/6/the-rains-begin Flooding down on the gulf coast and the Trinity swells over its banks upstream.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) trinityflood https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2016/6/the-rains-begin Fri, 03 Jun 2016 14:32:54 GMT
!st Place Wildlife Trinity River Photo 2015 https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2016/4/-st-place-wildlife-trinity-river-photo-2015 Winner of Professional Wildlife 2015 ~ Trinity River Photo Contest

The eight annual awards were just announced and I received 4 from my 8 entries.  A 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and honorable mention.  God is Great.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) trinitywildlife https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2016/4/-st-place-wildlife-trinity-river-photo-2015 Mon, 04 Apr 2016 16:12:37 GMT
Fall on Turtle Creek https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/11/fall-on-turtle-creek

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/11/fall-on-turtle-creek Sat, 21 Nov 2015 16:42:45 GMT
Trinity River Flood https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/9/trinity-river-flood

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) trinity-river trinityflood https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/9/trinity-river-flood Wed, 16 Sep 2015 01:54:06 GMT
Big Bend Full Moon https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/4/big-bend-full-moon

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/4/big-bend-full-moon Mon, 13 Apr 2015 19:44:08 GMT
Rays of Hope https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/1/rays-of-hope

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) Sundown Trinity https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2015/1/rays-of-hope Fri, 23 Jan 2015 16:38:47 GMT
Harvest Moon https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/10/harvest-moon

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/10/harvest-moon Fri, 17 Oct 2014 22:30:18 GMT
Trinity River at Dawn https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/8/trinity-river-at-dawn

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/8/trinity-river-at-dawn Mon, 25 Aug 2014 14:04:59 GMT
Lily Pond https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/7/lily-pond the lure from the yellow lily flowers. 

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/7/lily-pond Wed, 16 Jul 2014 18:13:32 GMT
Bluebonnets Arrive https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/4/bluebonnets-arrive Mid April is bluebonnet season in North and Central Texas.  This crop was found in Ennis, Texas farmlands.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/4/bluebonnets-arrive Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:57:54 GMT
New Years In Marfa https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/new-years-in-marfa Everything about Marfa was sweet.  Renting a house in town for a week is the way to go. This was taken at sunset on the far side (north) of town on New Years Day.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/new-years-in-marfa Thu, 27 Mar 2014 04:29:36 GMT
Rogue River Roars https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/rogue-river-roars The Rogue River Works it way down through Oregon to the Pacific ocean.  From the glacier run off from Crater lake National park comes the clear and clean water.

 

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/rogue-river-roars Thu, 27 Mar 2014 02:16:52 GMT
Lee County Courthouse https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/lee-county-courthouse About a hour and fifteen minutes south of Austin on hwy 290 one block off the hwy in  Giddings stands one of my favorite of the remodeled courthouses of Texas.  The Pecan Tree lined sidewalk to the front door is at its best in the summer. 

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/lee-county-courthouse Sun, 23 Mar 2014 19:57:12 GMT
Monument Valley Sandstorm https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/monument-valley-sandstorm The best plans can be blown away by the wind and sand just as my trip to Monument Valley was.  The iconic rock formations found there I never tire of seeing in the Western movies filmed with John Wayne, Lee Marvin, Randolph Scott and others  on horseback.

  On this trip last May, the wind was around the 20-30 miles per hour and even getting out of the SUV posed a dust problem.  Hope you enjoy the "Mittens" in a sand storm.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) Mitens Monument Valley https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/monument-valley-sandstorm Sat, 22 Mar 2014 16:50:41 GMT
Lake Louise https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/lake-louise The initial view of a visitor to Lake Louise is the deep blue waters of the glacial lake and the far off view of the magnificent snow capped mountains miles away.  One of the lessons learned through my many years of photography is get closer and closer.  From shooting a flower by focusing in to a single petal or zooming in on a small portion of a mountain, getting closer has a way of opening a whole new visual way of seeing the world.       The sheer beauty from the eons of geological changes makes an abstract painting, just as I found in British Columbia while visiting lake Louise.

]]>
rick@rickturnerphotography.com (Rick Turner Photography) British Columbia Lake Louise https://www.rickturnerphotography.com/blog/2014/3/lake-louise Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:13:00 GMT